Absence Makes the Scale Grow…er, Meaner?

As you may have (or more likely, may not have) noticed. I’ve been gone. On Friday M and I woke up at 4:30 a.m. to get to the airport for our 6:40 a.m. flight. M is not a morning person at all so he was not too happy with my decision to book that early flight. I booked it that early though for the sole purpose of getting to Texas in time to enjoy the full day. We were going to Texas for my friend’s wedding reception which was at a lake house/resort, so there ideally was plenty to do on Friday.

Our original itinerary looked like this:

(As an aside I find it incredibly interesting that IND-DTW and DTW-AUS are on nearly the same line.) The red and blue are the two different flights we were supposed to take. The black is the drive from Austin to the lakehouse.

Unfortunately, after a half hour or so at our gate, they announced a delay on our flight. Then a few minutes later, they announced our flight was cancelled.

To say we weren’t happy was an understatement. We proceeded to find out we were rescheduled to get to Austin at 11:37 p.m. That was not going to work for me. So I called an agent and this is what we ended up doing instead:

Yep, four flights. And into San Antonio and a longer drive. And a new rental car reservation.

Things could have gone wrong. Taking four flights was very risky, but we arrived in San Antonio at 4:45 p.m. We made it to the lakehouse by 7 p.m. Not exactly what we had planned, but I was glad we got to Texas at all after the day we had.

I learned something on this trip about my weightloss journey though: I have no self control when I’m traveling. I ate very badly on the trip, particularly in the airport. I am hopeful that my weight update tomorrow won’t be a gain, but I’m making no promises at this point.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

